Lesson 8 – Summary

The Subtle System, which has been documented in India for thousands of years, consists of 7 energy centres (chakras), 3 energy channels (nadis) and the Kundalini.

The chakras correspond on the physical level to the plexuses of our central nervous system and the energy channels to the Sympathetic and Parasympathetic nervous systems within the spinal column.

Chakra means ‘wheel’ in Sanskrit, because the chakras rotate, clockwise, like wheels.

Chakras are also likened to lotus flowers, each chakra having a different number of petals, which corresponds to the number of sub-plexuses within the physical plexus.

What is meditation?
Meditation is the state of thoughtless awareness where we go beyond our thoughts.

What is Self-realization?
Self-realization is awakening of the Kundalini energy and opening our 7th center, Sahasrara chakra.

How and why we do Kundalini Bandhan?
We do Kundalini Bandhan before and after our meditation. Also before we leave our house.

We raise and tie our Kundalini 3 times for our 3 energy channels to raise our attention and Kundalini to the 7th center.

We do Bandhan for 7 times to protect ourselves from negative energies.

What is Kundalini and her qualities?
Kundalini is the mother energy inside all of us which is full of love, purity and compassion. When she awakens, she cleans our chakras. She can only be awakened in Sahaja Yoga.

What are the energy channels and how to balance them?
Energy channels are left (desire, past), right (action, future) and center (ascent, present).

To clear the left channel, we use the fire element.

To clear the right channel, we use water element. Put ice pack on our liver and follow Liver Diet.

What are the chakra names and their main qualities and elements?


What is the connection between our hands and chakras?
Each 7 chakra has a place in our hands and on our body. Physically, we may feel some heat or tingling in our fingers or in your body. This indicates in a very precise way which chakras are blocked.

How to sit during meditation?
We sit either crossed-legged on the floor or on a chair both the feet touching the floor.

How do we use our hands during meditation?
We do Kundalini Bandan with our hands before and after meditation. We place our hands on various chakras to support them. We use our right hand to give vibration to a chakra and to take our ego down. We use both hands to balance our energy channels.

How do we use the fire element during meditation?
We put the candle in front of Shri Mataji’s photo to clean the negative energy in the room. We use candle for ourselves to clean our left channel.

How do we use the water element during meditation?
We put our feet into salty water everyday to take out our daily negative energy such as stress, anger, sadness. We put ice pack on our liver to remove the heat from our right side.

What is the meaning of cool and hot breeze in the hands or on top of the head?
Cool breeze means we are in balance. If left hand is hot, this means you have problem in your left channel. If right hand is hot, this means you have problem in your right channel.

Who is Shri Mataji?
Shri Mataji is our master who gave us our Self-realization and dedicated herself to the enlightenment of the human beings.

When and where was Shri Mataji born and started Sahaja Yoga?
Shri Mataji was born on the 21st of March, 1923 in India. She started Sahaja Yoga on the 5th of May, 1970.

What is Yoga? It’s nothing more than taking your attention to your Spirit. This is yoga what does the Kundalini do? She raises your attention and take it to the Spirit.

Shri Mataji Nirmala Devi


More Videos

Public Program in USA 2000

Public Program in New York 2002

This moment is going to transform your life