Lesson 5 – Chakras

There are seven major chakras within our subtle system which are known as

Mooladhara, Swadisthan, Nabhi, Anahata, Vishuddhi, Agnya and Sahastrara.

Each chakra has different qualities and, by awakening these chakras, we can awaken and enhance these qualities within us, making us more balanced and integrated personalities. Perhaps more importantly, our awakened chakras give us joy and peace.

Each chakra (wheel in Sanskrit) is a point of support. They are located within the energy channels of your body. Your Kundalini flows through the chakras. It energizes, nurtures and balances them.

To visualize how energy flow works, imagine your subtle energy system as a flute with seven holes. Each hole represents a chakra. The air blown through the flute represents your Kundalini energy. If the flute’s holes are unobstructed, the flute can produce melodious, harmonious music. When your chakras are clear and free of obstructions, your Kundalini Energy flows through your body smoothly, achieving a harmonious balance.

The chakras cannot be seen, just as electricity cannot be seen. However, you verify that electricity exists every time you turn on an electrical appliance. In much the same way, you verify the existence of your chakras when you “turn them on” through meditation. You will experience the sensation of energy flowing through them, as well as the impact of this energy flow on each chakra’s corresponding nerve plexuses and associated organs. You can literally feel the energy flowing through each chakra and even detect specific blockages in the path of the energy flow.

You are not the sum of your physical, mental, emotional life, but you are designed for the spiritual. The whole design of the human being is created to enjoy your spiritual life and not the material life. This is the basic thing human beings don’t understand and that’s why, if they knew this fundamental thing, they would seek their spirit first and they would not seek other things.

Shri Mataji Nirmala Devi

Chakras and Qualities

Each of your chakras, is associated with specific functions and qualities. For example, the third chakra, Nabhi, is located in the central stomach area. This chakra governs the functioning of your internal organs and nerve networks in that area. It is associated with the states of contentment and satisfaction. Because you’ve always had all the energy centers within you, you’ve always had the potential to be content.

In exploring your chakras, you’ll find that most physical or psychological difficulties you’ve experienced can be traced to an imbalance, or catch, in a specific chakra. A catch is a blockage, obstruction or impairment of a chakra. A catch prevents your Kundalini from passing through that blocked chakra to rise to a higher level. As a result, the obstructed chakra does not function efficiently. This inefficiency manifests in your life as a physical, cognitive or emotional problem.

Once you’ve used your Kundalini to heal and balance an impaired chakra, the problem disappears. The newly repaired chakra’s associated qualities are enhanced and strengthened. This will help protect you from future problems. The stronger your chakras are, the stronger the associated qualities are within you. The more you develop and strengthen those qualities within you, the stronger your chakras will become.

The good news is that meditation is a valuable, and powerful, self-discovery tool. In fact, once your Kundaini has been awakened, Sahaja techniques will help you diagnose problems within your own subtle energy system. The special sensitivity, or vibratory awareness, you will gain through awakening your Kundalini will serve as a reliable gauge of your true inner state.

Placing our Hand on a Chakra

We can simply place the palm of the hand on any chakra that needs to be cleared.

Use the right hand for chakras of the left channel or centre channel and the left hand for the right channel. In each case keep the other hand palm upwards.

Giving Bandhan to a Chakra

We can easily clear any chakra by simply giving a bandhan to the chakra. This is done by rotating the hand clockwise in front of the chakra.

Chakras and Hands

Each 7 chakra has a place in our hands and on our body. Physically, we may feel some heat or tingling in our fingers or in our body. This indicates in a very precise way which chakras need support.

Chakra Meditation

7Mother Kundalini, please establish my Self-realization and give me thoughtless awareness.
6Mother Kundalini, please clear my negative conditionings. (Right side of your head)Mother Kundalini, please make me a forgiving person. I forgive everyone. (Front) Mother Kundalini, please forgive me. (Back)Mother Kundalini, please take my ego down and make me humble. (Left side of your head)
5Mother Kundalini, I am not guilty.Mother Kundalini, please make me a witness and collective person.Mother Kundalini, please give me sweetness in my words and actions.
4Mother Kundalini, I am pure Spirit. Please fill my heart with pure love.Mother Kundalini, please make me fearless, detached and confident.Mother Kundalini, please awaken the sense of responsibility in me.
3Mother Kundalini, please make me satisfied, peaceful and generous.Mother Kundalini, please make me balanced and righteous.Mother Kundalini, please give me dignity and well-being.
2Mother Kundalini, please give me pure knowledge and pure desire.Mother Kundalini, please give me pure creativity.Mother Kundalini, please give me pure attention and pure action.
1Mother Kundalini, please make me innocent, pure and wise.